ORDINANCE V

REGIONAL ASSEMBLIES

- 1. In accordance with Article 17 of the Charter there shall be and is hereby constituted a Regional Assembly for each of the following Regions of the University:
 - 01 London
 - 02 South
 - 03 South West
 - 04 West Midlands
 - 05 East Midlands
 - 06 East Anglia
 - 07 Yorkshire
 - 08 Northwest
 - 09 Northern
 - 010 Wales
 - 011 Scotland
 - 012 Northern Ireland
- 2. Each Regional Assembly shall comprise the full-time, part-time and tutorial academic staff and the registered students of the relevant Region.
- 3. In accordance with Statute 18 (2) of the Charter the Regional Assembly shall have the following powers and functions:
 - a) to elect to the General Assembly:

Five members of the part-time or tutorial academic staff Three registered students

- b) from among those members elected to the General Assembly, to nominate two as candidates for election to the Council of whom one shall be a member of the academic staff and one shall be a student.
- c) from among the five members of the part-time or tutorial academic staff elected to the General Assembly, to elect one to the Senate.
- 4. In accordance with Statutes 13 (13) and 15 (21) there shall be and are hereby constituted in each of the Regions delineated in clause one above a regional consultative committee (or committees) with constitutions, composition and membership as the Council on the recommendation of the Senate and after due consultation with the General Assembly shall from time to time determine. The functions of each Regional Consultative Committee shall include that of acting for and on behalf of the relevant Regional Assembly in such ways as the Council shall determine.

Approved by the Council on 20th July 1971