ORDINANCE VII

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE SENATE

WHEREAS by Statute 13(28) of the Charter of the University the Council is empowered to make ordinances in the exercise of the powers expressly set out in Statute 13 and of all other powers vested in the Council:

AND WHEREAS Statute 15 (1) (6) of the Charter provides

that the Senate may include, in addition to its membership as set out in the preceding clauses of that Statute, such other persons, not being members of the Academic Staff and not exceeding one fifth of the total membership of the Senate, as shall be determined by Ordinance

AND WHEREAS Statute 15 (2) of the Charter provides

that subject to any retirement by rotation that may be prescribed the period of office of such persons shall be four years and from such date as may be determined by a Regulation

THEREFORE the University Council hereby ordain as follows:

- 1. The holders of the officers and other representatives designated in the First Schedule to this Ordinance shall be Members of the Senate in addition to those otherwise determined under Statute 15(1) of the Charter.
- 2. From time to time the Senate may recommend additional officers, representatives or names to be incorporated in the First Schedule.
- 3. Any Member of the Senate by virtue of the First Schedule may resign his membership of the Senate.
- 4. Any Member of the Senate designated by the First Schedule shall be eligible for reappointment.
- 5. Any casual vacancy among the Members of the Senate named in the First Schedule occurring by resignation, incapacity or death shall be filled by the Senate and the Member so appointed shall hold office for the unexpired time of office of the Member in whose place he is appointed.

Approved by the Council on 25th July 1972

FIRST SCHEDULE

MEMBERS OF THE SENATE

The Librarian

The Deputy Librarian

The Director of Operations

The Director of Publishing

The Director of Marketing

The Director of Media Development

The Director of Post-Experience Courses

The Director of the Open University Research Unit at Oxford

The twelve senior BBC Open University producers

Twelve representatives of the University's research officers, research assistants and course assistants elected from amongst this number by such research officers, research assistants and course assistants, and by research students based at the University campus.

Six further representatives of the BBC who shall be non senior BBC Open University producers elected by BBC Open University production staff.

Six representatives of the University's non academic FSSU Staff, with the exception of those in the Office of the Secretary, elected from among their number by such non academic FSSU Staff.

SECOND SCHEDULE

REGULATION FOR THE ROTATION OF MEMBERSHIP OF THE SENATE (1972)

WHEREAS by Statute 16(25) of the Charter of the University the Senate is empowered to make Regulations in the exercise of the powers expressively set out in Statute 16 and of all other powers vested in the Senate.

AND WHEREAS Statute 15 (2) of the Charter provides

that subject to any retirement by rotation that may be prescribed the period of office such periods shall be four years and from such date as may be determined by a regulation.

THEREFORE the Senate of the University hereby regulate as follows:

- 1. The members of the Senate named in the first Schedule to Ordinance No.VII (I972) enacted by the University Council on shall hold office from the first day of August of that year with the exception of the saving clauses set out below.
- 2. In the event of any reduction in the total membership of the Senate enacted by Ordinance as set out in Statute 15(i) (h) of the Charter this Regulation shall be revoked.
- 3. The six representatives of the BBC who are not senior BBC Open University producers elected by the Open University production staff shall be so elected annually, the second such election to have been completed not later than the first day of August, 1973.
- 4. In order to establish a due rotation in the terms of office of the twelve representatives of the University's research officers, research assistants and course assistants elected by the Senate, the University's research officers, research assistants, course assistants, and research students based at the University campus shall in 1973 exceptionally appoint or reappoint Members of the Senate as follows
 - (i) Three Members to serve until the last day of July, 1974.
 - (ii) Three Members to serve until the last day of July, 1975.
 - (iii) Three Members to serve until the. last day of July, 1976.
 - (iv) Three Members to serve until the. last day of July, 1977.
- 5. In order to establish a due rotation in the terms of office of the six representatives of the University's non academic FSSU Staff with the exception of those in the Office of the Secretary, elected to the Senate, such non academic FSSU staff shall in 1973 exceptionally appoint or re-appoint Members of the Senate as follows:
 - (i) Two Members to serve until the last day of July, 1974.
 - (ii) One Member to serve until the last day of July, 1975.
 - (iii) Two Members to serve until the last day of July, 1976.
 - (iv) Two Members to serve until the last day of July, 1977.

The provisions of this regulation shall come into operation at the date on which it is confirmed by the University Council namely the 25^{th} day of July 1972.