HONORARY DEGREES COMMITTEE

CONSTITUTION - UPDATED 24.05.2018

Terms of Reference

Advising other governance bodies or management

To receive from members of the University and from accredited institutions nominations of persons thought worthy of the award of an Honorary Degree and, after scrutiny of such nominations, to recommend a shortlist for the consideration of the Senate. As part of this process, the Committee will consider statistical information on equality data and the criteria and guidelines for making a nomination.

Membership

- 1. The Vice-Chancellor, Chair, ex officio.
- 2. Five members of the Senate elected by the Senate, of whom at least one shall be a member of the professorial staff.
- 3. An Executive Dean as Chair of the Curriculum Partnerships Committee
- 4. One registered student appointed by the Open University Students Association (OUSA)
- 5. One other member, as from time to time the Vice-Chancellor may wish to appoint.

Mode of Operation

- 1. The Committee shall meet as and when required in accordance with the procedures agreed by the Senate for the award of Honorary Degrees.
- 2. The Chair shall have executive authority to act on its behalf in consultation with its Secretary. The Chair may appoint a deputy from amongst the committee membership to act as chair in the Chair's absence.
- 3. The Committee should act and be perceived to act impartially, and not be influenced in its role by members' social or business relationships.

$\overline{}$					
ς.	Δ	\sim	r۵	tつ	rv
J	ᆫ	u	ı	ιa	ıν

HONORARY DEGREES COMMITTEE

MEMBERSHIP LIST - UPDATED 15.03.2019

1. The Vice-Chancellor (Acting), Chair, ex officio.

Professor Mary Kellett

2. Five members of the Senate elected by the Senate of whom at least one shall be a member of the professorial staff.

Dr Elodie Vialleton	WELS	to 31.08.2020
Mrs Louise Casella	Director, Wales	to 31.08.2021
Mr Billy Khokhar	Academic Services	to 31.08.2022
Professor David Rothery	STEM	to 31.08.2022
Ms Susan Stewart	Director, Scotland	to 31.08.2022

3. One Executive Dean, as Chair of the Curriculum Partnerships Committee.

Dr Chris Kubiak (Acting) WELS to 31.12.2019

4. One registered student appointed by the Open University Students Association (OUSA)

Mrs Stephanie Stubbins, Deputy President to 31.07.2020

5. One other member, as from time to time the Vice-Chancellor may wish to appoint.

Dr Troy Cooper, Head of School, Psychology, FASS to 31.08.2021

Secretary: Mrs Margaret Jones