

COUNCIL

MINUTES

This paper presents the confirmed minutes of the meeting of Council held on Tuesday 26 September 2023 in Library Seminar Room 4, Walton Hall, Milton Keynes

Action Required

Council **approved** these minutes as a correct record at its meeting held on 21 November 2023.

Participants

Malcolm Sweeting (Chair), Tim Blackman, Vice-Chancellor Robert McCracken, Treasurer* Margaret Greenaway, OU Students Association President Mary Shek, Senate representative Hossam Kossem, Senate representative Carol Howells, Senate representative Eileen Scanlon, Senate representative Rob Parker, Senate representative Matt Porterfield, Student member Tony Cox, AL member Sas Amoah, member of non-academic staff Ceri Doyle, external co-opted member Paul Gray, external co-opted member* Julia Goodfellow, external co-opted member Paul Kett, external co-opted member Nikki Humphrey, external co-opted member Rashik Parmar, external co-opted member Tevin Tobun, external co-opted member* *Participation via Microsoft Teams

In Attendance

Not applicable

Apologies

John Brooks, external co-opted member Thomas Frawley, external co-opted member

1 WELCOME

The Chair welcomed Nikki Humphrey, Mary Shek, Hossam Kossem, Tony Cox and Matt Porterfield to their first meeting of Council.

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None declared.

3 POSTGRADUATE AND INTERNATIONAL FEES FOR 2024/25 C-2023-05-01

Council **approved, on recommendation of Strategic Planning and Resources Committee** postgraduate and international fees for 2024/25,

4 REPORT FROM GOVERNANCE AND NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

C-2023-05-02

Council **noted** a report from a meeting of the Governance and Nominations Committee held by correspondence during August 2023.

Future Meeting Dates

21 November 2023 – Belfast Dinner on evening of 20 November 2023 5 March 2024 - Online 14 May 2024 – Milton Keynes 9 July 2024 - Milton Keynes

Dave Hall University Secretary

Sue Thomas Senior Manager, Governance Email: <u>sue.thomas@open.ac.uk</u>