

# THE COUNCIL

## Minutes

This paper presents the unconfirmed minutes of the meeting of the Council held by correspondence from 21 to 28 August 2020.

The Council **approved** these Minutes as a correct record, at its meeting held on 24 November 2020.

Sue Thomas Working Secretary to the Council Email: <u>sue.thomas@open.ac.uk</u> Tel: +44 (0) 1908 655083

Attachments:

C-2020-06-M Minutes of the meeting of the Council held by correspondence between 21 and 28 August 2020

Page 1 of 1



### THE COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of the Council held by correspondence between Friday 21 August 2020 and Friday 28 August 2020

Participants: Mr Malcolm Sweeting (Chair), Professor Tim Blackman (Vice-Chancellor), Mrs Sarah Jones (President, OU Students Association), Professor John Brooks (Vice-Chair), Dr Jovan Byford, Mrs Mary Curnock Cook, Dr Catherine Halliwell, Ms Carol Howells, Ms Maggie Galliers, Ms Ruth Girardet, Ms Anna Henderson, Mrs Rachel Lock, Mr Robert McCracken, Mr Bob Spedding, Ms Jessica Liddell, Mr Paul Greenwood,

In Attendance: Head of Governance, Senior Manager, Governance

### 1 COUNCIL AND COMMITTEE MEMBER APPOINTMENTS

C-2020-06-01

The Council:

- a) **approved** on the recommendations of the Governance and Nominations Committee, the appointment of:
  - i) Ceri Doyle.as an external co-opted member of the Council for Wales from August 2020 31 July 2024;
  - ii) Professor Paul Gray as an external co-opted member of the Council for Scotland from August 2020 31 July 2024;
  - iii) Lopa Patel as an external co-opted member of the Council from August 2020 – 31 July 2024
  - iv) Tevin Tobun as an external co-opted member of the Council from August 2020 31 July 2024;
  - v) Jasbir Mann as an external co-opted member of the Finance Committee from August 2020 31 July 2024;
  - vi) Kelly Smith as an external co-opted member of the Finance Committee from August 2020 31 July 2024;
- b) noted:
  - i) the amendments to the revised Council constitution and Council Standing Orders until August 2024
  - ii) the Student membership of the Council following the 2020 OU Students Association (OUSA) elections - Sarah Jones (President) and Jessica Liddell

Post meeting note: On 14 September 2020, Jessica Liddell resigned from the Council. The OU Students Association were conducting an election for the vacancy and the result was due to be announced on 4 November 2020.

- iii) the Senate membership of the Council following the 2020 Senate elections -Eileen Scanlon and Carol Howells
- iv) the Associate Lecturer membership of the Council following the 2020 Associate Lecturer Assembly elections - Catherine Halliwell

### 2 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next business meeting would take place on Tuesday 24 November 2020

#### 3 DECLASSIFICATION OF COUNCIL PAPERS

Paper C-2020-06-01 was declassified, however appendices 3 to 8 would remain Highly Confidential.

Dave Hall University Secretary

Sue Thomas Working Secretary to the Council, Email: <u>sue.thomas@open.ac.uk</u> Tel: +44 (0)1908 655083